Lagos soundscapes

From Africa is a Country: Emeka Ogboh is interviewed about his art installations that include Lagos street scenes and sounds. He also has created an online live sound streaming of Lagos Soundscapes, which coincided with World Listening Day on July 18, 2013.

[In response to a question about the artist’s sound archive having historical value].

“When I first began to record, I did not envisage this development. I was only looking at things from a creative perspective and did not realize that I was slowly building an archive. It was only when Oshodi was restructured and renovated between 2009 and 2010 that it occurred to me that there had been a transformation in the sounds there. It was at this point that it became apparent to me that Lagos soundscapes were changing in relation to infrastructural developments going on in the city.

My goal is to create a narrative of the transformation of Lagos with the recordings I’ve already completed and those I have yet to make. I am not looking to work with only my own recordings but will seek out older recordings of Lagos from the past, such as archival video footage and other audio material.”

I’d be thrilled to know of similar archives documenting African urban life at different historical moments.

Leave a Reply

