The Caine award for short story by an African writer

By Allison Flood, Guardian, May 1

“The £10,000 Caine award, known as the African Booker, is for a short story by an African writer published in English and is backed by the African Nobel prize winners Nadine Gordimer, Wole Soyinke, Chinua Achebe and JM Coetzee, with Booker winner Ben Okri as its new vice president. Novelist Bernadine Evaristo, chair of this year’s judging panel, set out to find a shortlist of stories which ‘enlarge our concept’ of Africa beyond the images which dominate the media – ‘War-torn Africa, Starving Africa, Corrupt Africa – in short: The Tragic Continent’.”

This year’s winner will be announced July 2.

Read more

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: